Night~ A Reflection V. 3

“I am not a saint. I’m a simple creature of flesh and bone. I suffer hell in my soul and my flesh. I also have eyes and I see what is being done here.  Where is gods mercy? Where’s God? How can I believe, how can anyone believe in this God of Mercy?”

This is a statement made by a pastor in the camp with Elie. I pick this quote because it shows that even in our darkest times we don’t see the light. This man who had given his life to God, was now starting to question it. The Jewish people believed that their God would save them, but where was God? In the gallows? In the empty homes where innocent people were taken, beaten and killed all because of believing in him? Where is the savior? It’s a lot of questions to ask for one man, even a man of his faith. My biggest question is even when they needed him why didn’t he help them?

God works in mysterious ways. In my understanding of this quote is that the pastor asked them to pray for him. To pray for his soul on his way to eternal life. Even after he had questioned his God and felt weary of his beliefs. God was with him, giving him the strength to go when he was called. I think that it is hard for people to understand that there is a reason for everything. As for the Holocaust we may never know the main purpose.

Leave a Reply

